Who We Are

The Connecticut Yankee Council is the local chapter of the Boy Scouts of America, providing programs and services to more than 9,700 young people and 3,300 volunteers in Fairfield, New Haven and parts of Hartford counties of Connecticut. The Council is led by a volunteer Executive Board of community and business leaders. The key leadership of the Council is Council President Christopher Luise, Council Commissioner John Gelinas Jr, and Scout Executive/CEO Charles Flowers.


We carry out the mission of the Boy Scouts of America by providing leadership opportunities for all youth through quality programs, mentoring from trained adult volunteers and ongoing learning and personal development through outdoor experiences. The mission of the Boy Scouts of America is to serve others by helping to instill values in young people and in other ways prepare them to make ethical choices over their lifetime in achieving their full potential. The values we strive to instill are based on those found in the Scout Oath and Law.


We serve the following towns and communities with six geographically divided districts led by a committee of volunteers and supported by a full-time District Executive: