Seq Arrow Heads




At Camp Sequassen there is a tradition


to recognize key individuals who have contributed to the success the camp enjoys today. A tradition that is thought to go back two score years and more, currently it takes the form of a display of Arrow Heads that  adorn  the front of the Trading Post. These arrow heads are for the individuals which currently hold key positions. There is also an effort to list all current and past recipients as is displayed on this page and eventually will be framed on a wall in a prominent location at camp. The list on this page currently a tool in this effort. 



As of Oct 2015





Past & Present Recipients



Name Position Start   End
Robert Pratt Council Camping Chairman   -  
Winthrop Smith Council Camping Chairman   -  
Irving H. Schlesinger Council Camping Chairman   -  
Leo Silverstein Jr. Council Camping Chairman   -  
Robert Haversat Council Camping Chairman   -  
Dave Hungerford Council Camping Chairman   -  
Karl Rosenbaum Council Camping Chairman   -  
John McKechnie Council Camping Chairman 1994 - 1997
Steve Grove Council Camping Chairman 1997 - 1999
John Farley Council Camping Chairman 2001 - 2003
Douglas Machin Council Camping Chairman 2004 - 2005
William R. Hall Council Camping Chairman 2005 - Present
Edward Tamasi Camp Director   -  
Robert Towne Camp Director   -  
Alfred Morin Camp Director   -  
Stanley A. Sherwood Camp Director 1972 - 1973
Edward R. Ostrosky Camp Director   -  
Robert A. Lewis Camp Director   -  
Tom McMahon Camp Director   -  
Steve Grove Camp Director   -  
K. Zane Camp Director   -  
Tom Dolan Camp Director   -  
David Maher Camp Director 1991 - 1993
Daniel B. Cooley Camp Director 2000 - Present
Daniel M. Groth^ Camp Director 1993 - 1997
Carl Flodquist Camp Maintenance Chairman 1965 - 1992
John Burke Camp Maintenance Chairman 1992 - 1999
Thomas J. Young Camp Maintenance Chairman 1999 - 2014
Patrick H. Maxim Camp Maintenance Chairman 2014 - Present
Lawton Sargent Council President   -  
Richard H. Bowerman Council President   -  
Alfred Sanford Council President   -  
Leo Silverstein Jr. Council President   -  
Lawrence Iannotti Council President   -  
Charles J. Anderson Council President   -  
Richard D. Knott Council President   -  
A. Alderman Council President   -  
D. Hungerford Council President   -  
P. Durosko Council President   -  
R.M. Augur Council President   -  
Bruce L. Morris Council President   -  
William Colwell Council President 1993 - 1995
William Laudano Council President 1997 - 1998
Ronald T. Urquhart Council President 1999 - 1999
Robert A. Payne Council President 2000 - 2002
Robert T. Sadock, MD Council President 2003 - 2004
John C. Andres, Esq. Council President 2005 - 2006
Steven L. Crews Council President 2007 - 2008
Christopher L. Caruso Council President 2009 - 2010
Douglas Machin Council President 2011 - 2012
Michael Abrahamson Council President 2013 - 2014
Christopher McLeod Council President 2015 - 2016
Christopher Luise Council President 2017 - Present
Daniel B. Cooley Council Program Director 1998 - 2015
Michael Morrell Council Program Director 2015 - Present
Ernest Wheat Camp Ranger 1954 - 1981
Al Linnel Camp Ranger 1981 - 1983
Daniel M. Groth^ Camp Ranger 1993 - 1997
Brian Boyajian Camp Ranger 1997 - 1999
David Boyajian Camp Ranger 1999 - Present
Robert C. Birkemeier Council Scout Executive   - 1972
Kenneth W. Prowse Council Scout Executive 1972 - 1990
John Hunt Council Scout Executive   -  
Robert Mersereau Council Scout Executive 1994 - 1998
Douglas Krofina Council Scout Executive 1998 - 2003
Louis Salute Council Scout Executive 2003 - ?
Charles Flowers Council Scout Executive 2013 - Present
Christopher Guarniere Camp Program Director 2002 - 2003
Andrea R. Ulery Camp Program Director 2004 - 2006
Kevin Sylvester Camp Program Director 2007 - 2008
Charles A. Johnson Camp Program Director 2009 - 2010
Alex Cantor Camp Program Director 2011 - 2012
Lucas Blinn Camp Program Director 2014 - 2014
Mike Migliore Camp Program Director 2015 - Present



*Initial Arrow Heads were not dated, but are in the order that they were mounted in Dining Hall.
^ Daniel M. Groth held two positions while he was employed at Camp Sequassen; Camp Director and Ranger.






Currently Arrow heads are displayed at the Trading Post which is now operating from the old Cook's Shack. 






The Arrow Head Project


Can you help us, we are looking for information.


While the facilities have changed significantly, especially in the last 17 years we want to continue many of the traditions which were adopted in the past. One of those is to recognize those who have held key positions important to the welfare and success of Camp Sequassen. In doing this a policy was established where an arrow head is displayed, in camp, for those currently in these positions. Additionally to create framed lists of those having held a position in the past. To this end we are asking for as much information as we can get. 

When you review the list know that we used different font colors where, ORANGE indicates a recent update, GREEN indicates confidence as to accuracy and BLACK is believed to be or is known to be accurate. Please contact Pat Maxim if you can help, we would like to have as complete and accurate a record as is possible.

Mainly we are looking for missing; dates, completeness of names, the correct spelling and the like. In addition anyone able to verify what has been gathered already would also be appreciated. Verifications could be in the form of pictures, documents and the like, but they can also be recollections, though please let us know how sure you are.


List reflects what we have as of; 2/6/2017


Return to  Top