Religious Awards

To encourage members of the BSA to grow stronger in their faith, many religious groups have instituted programs that enable adults that mentor youth to earn a religious emblem. The Boy Scouts of America has approved of these programs and allows the emblems to be worn on leaders' official uniforms. However, the emblems are awarded through the various religious organizations rather than the BSA.


For a complete list of approved emblems programs, including a list of awards that are provided by each faith, see the Religious Emblems Programs and here.


Religious emblem square knot, cloth, silver knot on purple, No. 5007, may be worn by youth or adult members who earned the knot as a youth, above left pocket. Cloth, purple knot on silver, No. 5014, may be worn by adult members presented with the recognition, above left pocket. Adults may wear both knots if they satisfy qualifying criteria. Tiger Cubs may also wear this knot on their uniform shirts.


  Adult Religious Knot  
  Youth Religious Knot Adult Religious Knot  


Links and Resources


PRAY Publishing

  • Programs of Religious Activities with Youth (PRAY) is a not-for-profit organization whose mission statement is to "foster the Christian growth of children, youth, and families through churches and youth serving agencies." Everything that the PRAY national board does is centered on the two parts of this mission statement: collaborations between churches and agencies (including the BSA), and the God and Country program.    


  • The Good Shepherd Emblem is a national recognition for adults who have rendered outstanding service to Baptist youth through their church and a national youth-serving agency.
The St. George Emblem
  • The National Catholic Committee on Scouting awards this emblem to members of the laity and clergy who have made outstanding contributions to the spiritual development of Catholic youth in Scouting.


Religious Awards for Jewish Scouts

Shabbat Emblem
  • The Jewish Committee on Scouting offers a Scout Shabbat Emblem. Orders are be accepted until supplies run out.
The Shofar Award
  • The National Jewish Committee on Scouting established the Shofar Award to recognize outstanding service by adults in the promotion of Scouting among Jewish youth.
Frank L. Weil Memorial Quality Jewish Committee Award
  • The National Jewish Committee on Scouting has established this award to recognize local Jewish communities on Scouting that meet standard objectives in the support of the local council.
Frank L. Weil Memorial Unit Recognition Award
  • The National Jewish Committee on Scouting has established this award to recognize the chartered organization to help motivate and improve the effectiveness of the individual unit and its adult leadership, and to provide each youth with a top-quality program.